2013 04 07 – Coffee

It’s funny the coincidences that pop up in life now and again. Today, I had just finished placing an online order for some specialty coffees when I happened to go into my bedroom, where there are a lot of plants. Walking through the door, I was hit with this wonderful, different, yet somehow familiar fragrance.

The coffee tree, Coffea arabica, that I had snagged for myself last year when we got in a large shipment of more uncommon tropical fruit trees was in full bloom. The branches were covered in large white blooms with a fragrance similar to citrus blooms, but with a bit of spiciness to them. The fragrance was more subtle than the sometimes overpowering citrus blooms. I also noticed that my Key lime had a few flowers open, but because of the sheer number of flowers on the coffee tree, it was the dominant fragrance in the room. I had noticed last week while watering plants that the coffee tree was loaded with buds, but had since forgotten about it due to other work-related tasks occupying my brain.

What a wonderful surprise! And all of this coming from one of the easier plants to take care of in my tropical collection. There were a few times this winter when the indoor plants didn’t get watered for a couple of weeks at a time. During this time, I lost one of my two chocolate trees, a couple of hot peppers, and my basil. The eggplants and a couple of other plants had also suffered, but they’re slowly recovering.  I’ll definitely have to keep my eye out for coffee trees this summer, especially larger size ones.

Maybe, just maybe, I’ll be blessed with a crop of coffee beans. I haven’t grown a coffee tree before so this is all new to me. To a coffee addict such as myself (I currently have 27 different kinds of coffee, espresso, lattes, etc. in the house, eight flavoured syrups, and a large number of new coffees coming with the above-mentioned order), just the thought of getting my own coffee beans and roasting them myself is exhilarating. I think this might call for a Creme Caramel Cappuccino with raw sugar sprinkled on top to celebrate.

Coffea arabica

About johnsgarden

I have a garden centre which operates out of my home in Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada I write columns for a local paper, which I will include here
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2013 04 07 – Coffee

  1. Kelly M says:

    Very cool ….. I am envious ….. coffee tree ….hmmmmmm……

  2. Ryan says:

    What a wonderful experience to have coffee bloom in your home! I must try growing coffee this year. Like you, my house is always full of unique and interesting plants that I’ve collected or grown from seed. I’ve been meaning to visit your garden centre for over a year now, but haven’t yet. Count me in for this spring!

  3. Barb says:

    John,
    Due to your interest in pushing the limits a bit regarding zones, I was wondering whether you might have the flowering dogwood cornus kousa ‘Milky Way’. It is zoned to zone 5, I believe and we saw many of them in Niagara, but their in another world than Uxbridge/Stouffville. I particularly like the Milky Way because the bracts are much bigger. We have bought plants from you in the past, but no trees yet, so I can’t remember. It doesn’t seem to be available much here, but I’m willing to try one if I can find it. I would appreciate your comments. Thanks.

    • johnsgarden says:

      Hi Barb,
      I currently have 2 Cornus kousa (the species, and Satomi) but there are more coming as part of my pre-orders done last fall. Milky Way is among them – it’ll be 4 feet tall, in a 7 gallon pot and will be $99. There’s also supposed to be 9 more varieties in that same delivery.

      • Barb says:

        Hi, thanks for your reply. We will probably drop by soon to check out your new stock. Thanks again. When do you think the it will arrive?

  4. johnsgarden says:

    The dogwoods probably won’t be here until the week following the long weekend (May 21 – 24)

Leave a Reply

