2012 11 22 – Urban Pantry

No surprise that it’s been a while since my last post. We were busy moving the plants to the back yard for the winter, and sinking other plants in the ground, plus trying to get set up for Christmas, then there was the IODE fundraiser where I made this blue and white container in a birch pot.

After that there was the Uxbridge Christmas Home Tour:

After that, we had a visit from the township By-Law Enforcement, letting us know that we had to take down the open sign and the promotional sign (that let’s people know that we have Christmas stuff in, as well as when we have a sale, when we open for the season, etc.) I was able to incorporate the open sign into the planter box sign, which is ok for now, although I’ll have to address council in January and hope that I get to keep it where it is. The real problem was letting people know that we had Christmas stuff in, so I decorated the planter box ad the trees at the side of the road.

The next big job was doing the outdoor decorating at the Urban Pantry in Uxbridge, which is where I’ve been for the last two days. Niki and her parents and all of the staff were so friendly and helpful. They brought me coffee regularly, made me an amazing burger for lunch, with thornloe cheddar, braised cabbage, and apple, grainy mustard. I was doing up their patio for the winter and wasn’t sure where to start. She had some tall lit birch branches from last year, but didn’t like how they weren’t full. I put all three into one container (after her dad and mom redid the lights as most of the strings weren’t working – I’m not great with lights – I don’t think I have the patience for them). I knew from talking to Niki that she liked the willow deer that I had and liked the idea of bringing nature in, but still wanted colour that would be visible from the road. That’s when I had the idea to have a small forest at one end of the patio, with a family of deer emerging from the forest and coming upon a series of differently coloured arrangements which were meant to represent Christmas presents.

Originally, the ‘presents’ were arranged in clusters of three, with the large red arrangement standing alone, but when looking from inside where the customers sit, there were gaps so the presents were spaced out more evenly. The Blue & White arrangement is Niki’s favourite and she claims that it has nothing to do with the colours of Greece’s flag.

The front entrance box is where they grow a lot of herbs for fresh use. It already had the birch logs in place, so I simply went from there.

There’s a window just inside the entrance with a window box outside. The shades have always been drawn here because if you open them, you get a great view of the dumpster. I filled it with tall dogwood and white branches – no greenery. This is something I do with my own containers on my deck. Niki’s going to hang a bird feeder above and the birds will regularly perch on the branches, waiting for their turn at the feeder, in full view of the customers. You can still see the dumpster through the branches, but it’s not so glaringly obvious and your eye is drawn towards the branches.

Tomorrow, I’ll be working on the hobby Horse Arms decorations and will post afterwards. Judy and Oliviah have also made up a number of containers and I’ll get them up as well.

About johnsgarden

I have a garden centre which operates out of my home in Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada I write columns for a local paper, which I will include here
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 11 22 – Urban Pantry

  1. Pingback: Day 182 – Urban Pantry is serving up “New & Exciting”! | 365thingstodoinuxbridge

Leave a Reply

